3 comments on “Windows 7 Download Does Not Work With Linux

  1. I’m trying to download the windows 7 beta version from my windows xp at home (in ubuntu I had the same problem as you) and… suprise! In opera browser: nothing happens, it remais loading (as in ubuntu); in google chrome: same as in opera but the page freezes after a minute.

    Last chance: Internet Explorer. A pop up appears saying that the “msxml3.dll” plug-in has crashed and that Internet explorer needs to be closed.

    Better luck next time!

  2. You can do it, but it does take a bit of effort.

    All you need to do is view source, and copy the URL for the button, and paste that into a new window (not a new tab; it will resize your window).

    If you have Java™ installed, you’ll find that it will load a download manager applet. If you do not have Java installed, it’ll give you a straight download through the Web browser.

    The URL you want is the really long URL contained in the JavaScript which is embedded directly in the tag for the download button. I was able to download both 32-bit and 64-bit Windows 7 this way. Windows 7 64-bit doesn’t work on any of my 64-bit computers, though the 32-bit release does work (on one of my computers, but not my primary workstation). All in all, I would say that it’s not ready to be a beta, anyway.

  3. Strange. I was able to download my Windows 7 beta ISO off the official site. (seems like vista 2.0, imo… but it’s stable for a beta, so far)

Leave a Reply

