4 comments on “Using Full KDE: Almost There

  1. I’m finding myself trying to decide which desktop environment to go with, whether it be Gnome or KDE. They both have their plusses and minuses. I’ve been a Gnome user for years, just recently dabbling with KDE. KDE is giving me a few fits at the moment, but perhaps with the next release of (K)Ubuntu, all those bugs I’m referring to will be gone.

    And I’ve still yet to try out the latest release of Gnome….so many options, so little time!

  2. That’s one of the best parts of using Linux: Choice!

    I know people who love KDE, people who love GNOME, and the fact is you can choose what fits you.

    Thanks for the comment!

  3. I am a very happy Kubuntu user, but I don’t use only KDE apps. I use Firefox and OpenOffice.org.

    That said, I have to disagree with you about KDE-PIM. For me, it is one of the true benefits of using KDE. It gets the email-contacts-calendar integration perfectly. (And it’s a decent RSS aggregator, for that matter.)

    I have KMail set up with spam filtering as well as a fairly complex mail-filtering scheme of my own. I have Kontact set up to organize my almost 2,000 contacts in a logical, concise manner. I use Calendar with local calendars, remote calendars, and a birthdays/anniversaries calendar pulled from my contacts.

    It is probably a matter of personal preference/taste, but I love KDE-PIM!

  4. KDE-PIM does integrate well. As I use it more and more, I like it better… I was just saying that for an average user, it may be a bit more than one expects to take on at first. After they use it for a short while, using it not so hard.

    Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

