4 comments on “PCLinuxOS and Fedora

  1. Some would argue that Fedora is already in the main stream. Maybe not for the average new user but no OS is really that friendly for a new user. Not even Windows. I do agree though that there package management system is at time flawed and some great Linux programs are not offered unless you go outside of the official repos. I personally use PCLinuxOS as it’s Linux but yet easy when I want it to be. That’s just personal preference though. I’m sure you personally prefer Ubuntu and that’s fine. We’re all Linux.

  2. PCLinuxOS isn’t a new distro. It’s been around since 2003, even longer than Ubuntu my friend.

  3. Agreed. Linux does have a way to go… It was really Fedora that had the package management issue – but I do like what they include with the system, and as I said, PCLinuxOS is a new(er) system, and it’s not bad. I like all of them, and yes, even though Ubuntu is my favorite distro, I can’t resist trying out all distributions… for example, I am using Linux Mint right now. 🙂

  4. A few points to you Jon:

    PCLinuxOS in not new, IT’S BEEN THERE SINCE 2003. How much time you had with PCLinuxOS? IT’S ALREADY MATURE, AND WON’T TAKE BY THE END OF THIS YEAR, IF YOU HAD SOME TIME WITH IT, YOU SHOULD KNOW IT’S PROBABLY MORE MATURE THAN UBUNTU.

Leave a Reply

