48 comments on “The “Ubuntu Equals Linux” Paradox

  1. Pingback: The “Ubuntu Equals Linux” Paradox

  2. ubuntu, out of debian, encourages forks of its system, and we believe you are only half right about the desktop world. We specialize in systems for small businesses, a specific type of newbie, and so our specific fork of ubuntu/debian is related to solving business needs, both at the server and desktop level. Many small businesses are opting for the thin client model of Sun, because it costs less, and gives it employees a centralized workstation that controls all data input and does not allow helter scelter copying of rogue programs that ad to work complexity and non-standardization. Our new distro is available only through our Small Business Program, which includes CRM/ERP and VOIP, using full virtualization. We can be reached at mdean@sourceview.com

  3. I think the same. And it’s a vicious circle. More ubuntu users= more ubuntu zealots that convert other people( and more devels and more quality system)= more ubuntu users.

    The good thing is that ubuntu is liked by a majority and if you don’t like ubuntu, you can do a fork.
    You don’t have such a freedom on Mac or Windows :P

  4. Thanks for the comments folks! :)

    Michael – There’s no problem with a fork for a specific user group. What you are doing is good for Linux and businesses. When I was referring to forks, it had more to do with the more pointless forks, ones which take away from the efforts of those who want Linux to go mainstream.

    Artir – Ubuntu has to be good for something! :P

  5. I love Ubuntu, it’s soooo nice being able to switch back and forth between Windows and Ubuntu. I use Ubuntu for basically everything, with the exception of games which I haven’t quite figured out how to get to work on Ubuntu. I’m still basically a noob.

    * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

    http://will86aber.wordpress.com

  6. “In my mind, there are two groups who use Linux — those who want Linux to make it to the mass market, and those who don’t.” that part is so true and i don’t know why people don’t want linux for the mass market. Is it because hidden things would be discovered or pople would discover it’s weaker? …. (Ubuntu fan by the way )

  7. will86aber – Congrats on your move to Ubuntu! :)

    Salimane – Nice to meet another Ubuntu fan! There are some folks who are just Linux elitist, and for them, if everyone else using what they are using, then they would not be “cool” anymore (I think there was a UserFriendly.org comic that described this perfectly). Thankfully, there’s not anything really hidden about Linux. I imagine more folks will jump on board the effort to bring Linux to the masses as time goes on.

    Thanks for the comments! :)

  8. My first look at Linux was Red Hat 9, which I bought for £30, but later realised I could have got it free with a ‘Red Hat Linux Bible’. I liked it, but didn’t know what to do with it, nor had the time to learn or download updates on a dial up. Communications having improved a great deal since then, I have made rapid progress and I have online resources galore! In the meantime I have reduced my Windows needs to a minimum, and rely heavily on Macs for my day to day workload.

    Users require reliability, because the majority are not geeks who like to look at the mechanics under the bonnet. Linux serves a very broad purpose in my view, one that it is increasingly successful because there are several distributions, all of which can be tweaked. I have Ubuntu on a Dell laptop, and a old G4 PowerMac, but I’d like to look at Fedora, and have been recommended OpenSUSE by a friend.

    Of course I don’t really have time to switch from one to the other, or learn all I need to, in order that I can be satisfactorily independent. I am a regular consumer, who needs someone else to get Linux to the point that it will do all I need it to. If Ubuntu are closest to that than any other, that’s why I’ll use Ubuntu……

  9. I agree that Ubuntu has had better marketing than other distros and often far better tools as well for a number of tasks.

    The reality remains, no matter how much you like Ubuntu, is that Ubuntu Linux.

    There are better desktop distros out there. Far better ones. Mandriva comes quickly to mind, though they didn’t and don’t have the funds or passion that backs up Ubuntu. Nothing at all wrong with that.

    I’d certainly never recommend openSUSE to anyone not because of it’s Novell connections or anything simply because it’s a bear to use.

    Fedora is, really, for the geek in a lot of us for no other reason than it’s so bleeding edge.

    Nor from my experience is Ubuntu the perfect desktop. Adept alone is enough to send a newbie screaming or the nearest door when trying to find something. Well, perhaps not that fast…the first exposure to YaST is far more likely to get that response.

    For me, though, GNOME as the desktop remains a massive stumbling block for reasons I won’t go into for fear of starting another pointless desktop “holy war”. (None of us really need that do we? :-) )

    Now then should Ubuntu adopt something close to Mandriva’s Control Centre, which is the best of breed there bar none, and allow me to easily set up a real root account along with a few other annoyances then I’d probably feel a bit friendlier.

    OK, I admit, I’m a control freak and just love to spend an hour or so configuring the daylights out of my spanking new desktop so that would brand me a KDE user who also rather likes the CLI from time to time.

    For all that Ubuntu has done one monstrously good service to Linux and the entire FOSS community by proving beyond a doubt that it’s possible to produce a high quality, stable and friendly Linux desktop.

    For that we all owe Ubuntu a huge thank you.

    Meanwhile, I’ll stay with the runner up and not forgotten distro according to Linux Journal’s 2008 Readers Choice awards for Best Distro…Mandriva.

    Though I will continue to run K/Ubuntu in Virtual Box to keep an eye on what Ubuntu is up to.

    So…keep up the good work!

    ttfn

    John

  10. Today is tuesday so I guess its time for the weekly “There are two many distros” articles.

    Ubuntu is not ‘teh Linux’. I know the reasons why you would like it to be but there will always be distros and hot distros. Dont forget PCLinuxOS was on top of distrowatch for over a year and they have ZERO budget.

    I like Ubuntu for newbies but I want to see an after-Shuttleworth plan. When flyboy gets tired of his toy, what will happen then?

    Personally, I dont think newbies care as much for the distro as they do about the GUI.
    Whenever I give newbies some Linux Live CD’s to try out, they keep mentioning that certain of them look identical.

    All I want is for every distro to be interchangeable in some aspects (like installnig programs), Whether it is KDE on PCLInuxOS or KDE on Kubuntu, what the newbie notices is not the distro differences.

  11. i agree with you. linux need a face for the consumer and mainstream users. it looks like its going to be ubuntu. there slogan “linux for human beings” are the key to make that happen.

  12. Funny thing; about ten years ago practically everybody was making exactly the same noises about Redhat. There will always be a ‘most popular’ distro. Sometimes it will be well ahead of the others, and sometimes some other distro will come along that is vastly easier to use, or supported by a philanthropist who mails out free cds to anybody who wants one.. and that distro will become the most popular. At least until something else comes along.

    It happens. Nothing is stopping you from running fedora or debian or gentoo or even creating your own custom distro if you wish. Ubuntu just happens to be the most popular at the moment.

  13. I don’t see this as being much different from the situation 6 or 7 years ago when “Red Hat” was basically equivalent to Linux in most people’s minds. Probably the largest difference between now and then is that people are more aware that computers can run operating systems other than Windows. Apple has done an incredible job of making Unix cool.

    Red Hat decided the desktop wasn’t worth the effort for them and basically abandoned the home user to concentrate on the server and commercial desktop areas. During that time Suse and Ubuntu gained a lot of users and lately Ubuntu has indeed taken over the preeminent position.

    Who knows how long it will stay this way? What would happen to Ubuntu if Mark Shuttleworth grew bored? Another distro could come along with the right mix of usability and marketing and shoot to the top of the popularity lists. Or Redhat’s recent decision to put more resources into Fedora could bring it back to it’s former prominence. Only time will tell.

    As for the part about wanting to keep Linux for ourselves or bringing it to the masses, I’ve got mixed feelings.

    More popularity means more drivers and applications. Which could definitely be good. But if that popularity comes at the expense of having to dumb things down to the level of the typical computer user, I’d rather stay obscure.

  14. Just a few thoughts in no particular order:
    1) Semi-sarcastically, if more people used Linux, I’d be at higher risk for malware on my Linux boxes!
    2) I think Ubuntu’s reputation for being “easiest to install and use” is overstated. I’ve had just as many problems installing and using Ubuntu as other distros.
    3) To those who mentioned Fedora, Fedora’s goal isn’t to crack the mainstream market, nor is its goal to even become (or continue to be) a popular distro. The point of Fedora is that it’s essentially a community-run testbed for Redhat. When it comes down to it, Fedora spins too fast and is too bleeding edge to crack the mainstream, so we may as well stop talking about that.
    4) Any honest Ubuntu user has to admit that Ubuntu has attracted more than its share of obnoxious users – and its popularity is adding to that.
    5) That said, one’s zealousness for any distro seem to be inversely related to the amount of time one has been using Linux.

    Bottom line is that I personally can see few reasons for using Ubuntu that don’t apply to Debian stable other than the geek-chic and being a part of something “big.”

  15. Pingback: Ubuntu becoming the face of Linux | iCNSQ Blogs

  16. “For one, there can’t be 500+ options running around in the mainstream desktop market. It’s just not going to happen. Even three top distributions mainstream in the desktop market may be too much.”

    And so, what you really want in your deepest heart of hearts is to kick all the “geeks” out of Linux so you pro-marketers can be the next Bill Gates while riding Linux. Except, whoops, geeks build Linux, so Linux dies without them. Geeks even build Ubuntu, too. Using really geeky compilers, and command lines, and reading manuals, and doing all those things your intended mainstream market won’t do.

    Every time I read one of these types of posts, I expect to look outside and see CD trees growing in the wild. Oooooh, *big* *gasp* so that’s where software comes from!

  17. I wish Ubuntu could be installed in all types of computers but …
    The most important thing that Ubuntu developers are missing is hardware support. Mepis is probably the best. Have you ever tried English Ubuntu in Japanese laptops (those intended for Japanese users for Japanese xp or vista)? It won’t install easily.

  18. My first Linux experience was a Linux Starter Kit for $40 (suse). Took forever to install, had inadequate video drivers, and I found it difficult to add things in KDE, and found Gnome too sparse. I then ordered some other distro’s off Ebay.

    After getting the hang of burning iso’s, I first tried Ubuntu because it was mentioned in a list supported by the newest Flash player. I’m a total Ubuntu convert, and really like the Gnome interface now and found things easy to install. I plan on putting Ubuntu Studio on my main desktop eventually. I’m still trying other distro’s:

    Sabayon (great extra’s but freezes on shutdown)
    Linux Mint (great as live, haven’t tried install yet)
    Puppy (great live, terrible installed; won’t recognize ethernet on my laptop)
    Teenpup (way too long to boot; same ethernet prob)
    Mandriva live (good but a little too fancy for my tastes)
    Freespire (good live, looks so much like Windows, it’s uncomfortable) need to try their CNR since they opened it up
    DSL (too simple for average folks’ use)
    Xbuntu (don’t like the DOS-like Xfce desktop)
    Kubuntu (same add problems as in KDE Suse, but maybe CNR will change that for me)
    Killbill/slax- still playing with this one
    PCLinuxOS- need to re-download the CD; getting install errors.
    Fedora – still in the case, haven’t tried it yet.

    The 2 that I recommend to friends are Ubuntu, and for older machines, Puppy. One of the main reasons is Ubuntu’s Roadmap of regular releases and LTS versions, and their online support. Almost every problem I’ve had with Ubuntu so far, I’ve googled and found an apt-command to copy-paste and the problem was solved that easily. It really depends on what a person’s need is, how old/new their hardware is and things like that. While I like the ease of Freespire, I like that Ubuntu is free of extras (ie, proprietary), so you know what you’re getting.

  19. In general, I think Ubuntu is good for Linux, and more so good for Open Source Software.

    Personally, in another lifetime, I was the biggest MIcrosoft evangelist there was. I thought “open source” meant a free but half-baked, sub-par implementation. And always, you got what you paid for.

    Yes, my views were completely wrong… And, frustrations with Microsoft is what got me to try Ubuntu to start with.

    Long story (somewhat) short, I completed my move from Windows to Ubuntu a couple years ago. I have proudly moved from vbscript to bash/Python, C# to Java, and ASP to PHP. After seeing a project as big Linux (by way of Ubuntu) work so well, and still remain completely free (cost and freedom), I have gained a new respect for what Open Source means, and am very inspired to contribute to Linux-based, open source projects (when my C/Python skills improve enough).

    Yes, I’m probably still just a Windows guy making the move to Linux, but Ubuntu helped me do that. As an average user, starting with a distro like Gentoo just wouldn’t have worked. And, without Ubuntu, I’d still be hacking away on my Windows programs, and probably working on closed-source projects.

  20. Every time this Ubuntu thing comes up, the ubuntu users usually say “It’s awesome and we’re making more Linux users” and the non-ubuntu users bash Ubuntu for not being the perfect Linux experience for newbies or having proprietary drivers or whatever.

    I think we gotta be real that IF a distro ever goes “mainstream” it’s probably going to make compromises, it’s probably going to be dumbed-down, and it’s probably not going to be the experienced users’ “cup of tea”. But ask yourself this: if it happens, are any of us going to be worse off? Would you rather have a less-than perfect Linux distro dominating things or that proprietary crud from Redmond?

    Out of the majors, I’d most like to see Ubuntu succeed. I mean, who we got out there pushing a “newbie linux”?
    1. Novell
    2. Xandros/Linspire
    3. Mandriva
    4. Ubuntu

    Think about that. Is Ubuntu really the worst choice to come out on top?

  21. I’ve converted 11 people to Ubuntu already because of Ubuntu’s Wubi. Wubi and WINE for that matter, allow the switch from windows to be even less painful than using a live disk. Wubi is brilliant! I used Wubi to install Ubuntu on my 79 year old mother’s computer. She was already using open office and firefox. At first she boot into Ubuntu now and then to go on line. When she started to discover that she could access her windows files from Ubuntu and that every time I visited her, I didn’t have to spend my time cleaning the gunk out of xp, she started using it all the time. Now she rarely ever boots into windows.
    I have another friend that I converted using Wubi. He had no experience with FOSS at all. But after several months using Ubuntu, he started looking around at other distros and OS’s. He is now using Fedora on his laptop and believe it or not, pc-bsd as his main os!
    Ubuntu’s Wubi is one the greatest tools for the linux/gnu evangelists. And a great tool for proponents of FOSS.

  22. hey! i don’t think it’s wrong that newbies thinks “ubuntu == linux”. Eventually, they may know that that’s not true. And if they don’t, what would be the problem? imagine your grandma, or yput 8 years old nephew, do they really whant to know what linux are they running? i don’t think so, they just want it to run
    i’ve just tryied a new eee with xandros and realized that it’s quite limited about adding new soft. You have to look for new repos, finde them, add them via terminal (or synaptic, but again via terminal + sudo, because there is no menu). If this thins become more stadarized, let’s says, in an ubuntu way people will top asking for the setup.exe and will just use their boxes the way THEY want, whitout worries. it’s just my point of view, perfectly arguable

    ah, by the way, i’m a debian fan and personally, don’t like ubuntu (i feel it a little limited for me :p), but still, is the one i recommend

  23. When Ubuntu was starting out I thought it was a nice addition to the huge variety of Linux distributions. Now I sometimes think it’s a curse: I have to add “-ubuntu” to any Google searches for technical questions, because the online GNU/Linux community has gone from being a (reasonably) competent, motivated, well-informed bunch of people who could read manuals and had at least a rough idea of what Linux was about, to…well, those people are still out there…but now they’re buried amongst a pig-ignorant mob of useless dipshits who want (and often expect, loudly and indignantly) Linux to be basically a free version of Windows, and would rather whine on support forums than use their brains and RTFM or Google for solutions.

    To me, Ubuntu increasingly represents “Linux for Windows users”; roughly analogous to “a car for bus passengers”: no need to learn how to drive, just get in and expect to be taken along the traditional route…and if it doesn’t happen, clutter the search engines with stupid questions. Fortunately, screening out Ubuntu users seems to raise the average IQ of the authors of whatever Google hits by about 20 points, so it’s still possible to access the posts of people who can read manuals.

    The day “Ubuntu Equals Linux” is the day I’ll finally be forced to shift to BSD to escape the “Linux should be more like Windows” morons: fortunately, as others have commented, this will never be the case, and to equate GNU/Linux with Ubuntu is like saying “MacDonalds Equals Food”. Quality and popularity are not the same thing.

  24. Ubuntu is absolutely nothing without Debian. Obviously, the author of this blog has never tried Debian testing, and therefore doesn’t realize that Ubuntu is just a tweaked version of the former, and can’t even exist without Debian.

  25. give it a year or so. there’ll be a new distro that will distract linux folks. first red hat, then suse, then mandrake and debian… and finally ubuntu came along.

    linux folks are always looking for the next interesting thing… once ubuntu becomes too commercial for the geeks and too boring for everyone else it’ll get added to the “been there, done that” file.

  26. You’re right and wrong (mostly wrong) about Linux distributions having too many “options”.

    People (especially non-technical people) are used to being told what programs to use for any given task, and that should be the point of a Linux distribution. Ubuntu has just as many “options” as any other distro out there however these options are initially restricted to ones that work for the majority of people and therefore no-one has to think too much about what to use – they just click on “Movie Player” to watch movies, click on the well-known (and only) web browser logo to browse the web, and so on. This is a major reason why Ubuntu has taken off – less confusion.

    However if there weren’t so many choices out there, the open-source gene pool wouldn’t be so large and the quality of software would be nowhere near as high, particularly for specialised tasks. Linux is more popular among the technically inclined because it caters better to their needs due to the number of choices they have available, not because everyone enjoys running around editing source code and re-compiling kernels. For example, I use at least 3 different text editors depending on the task at hand and wouldn’t even consider trying to do this on any other operating system.

    So I think the reason Ubuntu is so popular is because it provides the hand-holding that people need when potentially migrating from another operating system which offers users less choice and is therefore easier to use. People who try Linux only to become frustrated with it always come back crying “there’s too many choices, wahh!” – choice is never a bad thing, so long as you have a practical starting point.

  27. Fedora just totally rocks, and it being known to be bleeding edge only makes a linux enthusiast like me the merrier. always ahead of the game, risky but one heck of a ride. I love Fedora to bits!!!!!

  28. I have thought about this issue for lengths, and it got digged to the front page with 800+ diggs. Just search for “There’s more to Linux than Ubuntu”.

    After I wrote that post, I talked with couple of my friends, and with 100s of commenters on both digg and my blog, and here’s the deal:

    Currently, the Linux mindshare is quite substantial, but actual share in the market is much less – it’s around 2-5%. It is much more important to get any distribution out to become much more popular, and get to the market share of, say, 10%, than to worry about exact distribution that will make it. RedHat (and derivatives), Ubuntu/Debian and such, and others – I don’t really care. Nor should you. The moment Linux gets market share of Firefox, you can safely bet that everyone will know what the “Linux” is.

  29. “Those who do support the idea of having Linux enter the mainstream market support Ubuntu or one of the other top two distributions.”

    That’s simply bullshit. And freedom to choose your distro is one of the strengths of Linux. You think MicroSoft style monopoly is good? Well I don’t think so, It is not. I’m sure it would just destroy Linux.

    I do support the idea of having Linux enter the mainstrem, but i do not support Ubuntu. I think that in the long run Ubuntu destroys the reputataion of linux. ubuntu is poorly tested and just look at all those problems withj ubuntu 8.04. Linux has reputation of being reliable and secure OS. If you start thinking buggy ubuntu as synonym to linux, then all that good reputation of linux is lost. And why? Because ubuntu tries to make Linux for the monkeys not humans. Humans are not as stupid as ubuntu developers think. Ubuntu also alwats uses newest software, and they don’ät care about if that software is tested at all. Ubuntu users are actually testing that software. Ubuntu is neglecting testing so badly that it will eventually harm the whole linux community.

  30. It is a bit of a paradox I admit, of course you’ve got to wonder if it’s a necessarily bad thing or if it’s just the way these things are. After all in the late 90’s Linux = Redhat as far as things went in the home user market; they were being the most vocal, had all the books about their flavour of Linux on the shelves EVERYWHERE and so on. For a year or so in the 2000’s Suse took that spot.

    Now it’s Ubuntu’s turn and to be honest I think they’ve cracked the PR side of things. The amount of polish they’ve put on the distro is nice but they actively go out and promote themselves (here, have a fee CD and some stickers).

    I’m not a huge Ubuntu fan, even though it’s what I run on my main machine and EEE PC, but the fact that I can open word documents, don’t have issues with Anti-Virus software and seem to get less crashes is attracting the attention of my family. Plus I get a lot of “it just works” without faffing around with driver CD’s which really gets them interested.

    Generally speaking, the populance are used to a fairly simple set of things Company > Brand > Model. So say Sony / Vaio / Laptop for example. So it’s quite logical for them to see Conical / Ubuntu / Netbook Remix or similar for different offerings.

  31. Just to put your feet back on earth. You know that Ubuntu would not even exist whitout Debian? You do know that, right? If you don’t then I suggest you learn about how Ubuntu is made. Ubuntu releases are based on Debian’s development version.

    Think that and then re-think your claim that all world needs is Ubuntu.

  32. Alright, since there are like a shmillion more comments, and most seem to hit the same issues, I just address those.

    Yes, I have used debian. There’s pretty much not an operating system that I haven’t used. Saying Ubuntu’s nothing without debian is true, but really it’s hard for me to find the argument within that statement, and how it fits in to this article.

    Ubuntu = Linux for noobs isn’t going to change things for the geeks who are already using the system. You can still use it. I guess it’s the case of “Be careful what you wish for.” Geeks, like myself, wanted a “Year of the Linux Desktop.” Well, now a distribution has cracked the code of making it to the mainstream, and is having good success. With that being said, when the new users arrive, you can still use your system. It’s not like they will be using Slackware or *enter technical distro here* any time soon.

    Distribution diversity is not so much of a bad thing, and I was simply making a point that those who would go off and make a pointless fork are not really that interested in getting Linux into the mainstream in the first place, and those who want Linux to succeed, the majority of the time support Ubuntu. Remember, those calling for the “Year of the Linux Desktop.” They now have their wish.

    And for those who think Ubuntu stinks just like the brown theme might suggest (I couldn’t resist :P ):

    If you think Ubuntu stinks, then why don’t you do something to help make it better? Ubuntu has an estimated 9 million users worldwide. That’s a lot of users. In reality, 9 million users would not have willingly switched to a bad system, so the whole “Ubuntu stinks” argument really just flew out the door. If you think something is wrong with it, then bring it to the attention of the developers.

  33. Hmmm, for a Linux user who is not a programmer, the problem could be the purposeless or directionless of the openSUSE & Fedora distro(s). These will not obtain any sort of ‘=Linux’ status because the sole purpose of them is to test out the product for what soon will become a commercial/enterprise product. Even the companies that support them (Novell/RH) indicate that they are not for use on any production or mission critical systems. I don’t know, why can’t openSUSE be used on a production PC/laptop? It’s powerful, polished, professional looking, etc. I have better things to do than test Fedora 9 for bugs for free. Ubuntu on the other hand is free across the board both on the server and desktop. I’d be happy to test their product, submit bugs, or even solve issues.

    This whole Ubuntu isn’t anything w/o Debian is ridiculous. Pardus, Sidux, Xandros, Ubuntu, Mepis, Mint, Knoppix, (okay I’m tired) all wouldn’t exist without Debian so it sounds a whole lot like sour grapes to me. If the Debian devs felt like it, they could release Debian and provide support for the product but they don’t, they have a goal or mission and they stick to it…

    I would’ve like to see openSUSE succeed myself because the polish and effort put into it is staggering but Novell won’t allow it, ehy forbid it…

  34. Just an afterthought:

    For those who do want to keep Linux to the geeks, you must ask yourself one question — Is that attitude harmful to Linux as a whole?

    If you are basically saying: New users, we don’t want you. Does this make it bad for Linux by showing such immaturity? Bringing a superior technology to end users should be a goal, and hampering it by whining and complaining is only slowing the movement as a whole.

    If you want to keep your distro noob-free, then that’s cool. But to say it’s wrong to let new users in on Linux, and to say it’s wrong to have one successful distribution bringing in those new users, then that’s just plain wrong. It’s happening now, and inroads are being made.

    Remember it is better to say: We welcome all new users.
    Instead of: We hate new users.

    Attitudes such as the one below is something that is harmful to Linux:

    “You think MicroSoft style monopoly is good? Well I don’t think so, It is not. I’m sure it would just destroy Linux.”

    Yeah, one successful distribution will kill Linux. That one distribution IS ALSO LINUX. Don’t forget that. There is no reason to hate a distribution. Not a single one is perfect, not even your own.

    Hating Ubuntu isn’t going to change things, it’s just going to make Ubuntu look better, and your own distribution look like a basement recluse (which I know is not true!). For some, it’s almost like wealth envy towards Ubuntu, and is almost like the ridiculous desire to redistribute the users or not even have them at all. That’s just the wrong approach.

  35. Really I think the ubuntu famous is good for all linux users, extend the linux users base, and then we can obtain more linux support from the Industry. I’ve installed xubuntu in a old machine for a average-user, with any problem, but and in my experience its so far easy installation of Mandriva, it’s my favorite distribution because spanish support is excellent, estability and usability, simply i lke more. The important fact is to do linux more visible for the rest of users.

    Sorry by my english.

  36. yes,,I think Ubuntu is a great Linux distro for everyone ( i don’t think ubuntu is good just for nubies ). After all,,Ubuntu is Linux..
    me,,personality use slackware. Ubuntu is great for flexibility, easy and beautifull. But,there one diasadvantage from ubuntu. Ubuntu make us forgot what is the true linux. Not like slackware,,from slackware we will know what is linux.

    i’m sorry if my english so bad.
    tq.

  37. julio – I used Mandriva a couple of days ago… it is indeed a very good system! :)

    promoting linux – I completely ROFL’ed on that one :P

    putrabayangan – Slackware is good, and it’s the oldest distro out there. Ubuntu is Linux too, but Slackware does take you back to the core Linux roots, but still gives you all the new ‘n shiny software you could want.

  38. Ubuntus power in the open source community is not the technical specifications (which still are good), it’s the branding itself which leaves no doubt about the dedication to the open source effort. I can’t say the same thing about Novell and Xandros who still suffer from the Microsoft/proprietary stigma.

    A lot of ‘converts’ embark on their linux experience because they want to ‘stick it to the man’, Ubuntu offers the obvious safe choice in this aspect because it goes to great lengths to underpin it’s dedication towards free software. Frown at the idealism if you want, that’s how most (if not all) of us started out. For some reason it’s more ‘correct’ to say “I use linux because it’s worth it” these days, than for any moral reason. It all serve the same goal though : “Linux is worth it” appeals to business, “Linux is a good thing” appeals to individuals, both make Linux more popular.

    Sure, they’re noobs (so am I), but these noobs spread the message like wildfire. Not a bad thing, at all.

    I don’t care if they call it ‘Linux’, ‘Ubuntu’ or ‘LOLZORZ’, what matters is what lies behind the name, and staying true to it. Splitting hairs over a name is just silly, Torvalds and Stallman proved that a long time ago.

  39. You are right – for the general user Ubuntu = Linux. This is a very good thing. In fact, it is essential, if Linux is to survive, that some particular distro reaches that status. Ubuntu is the that measures up best.

  40. It’s GNU+Linux or GNU/Linux…

    As for Ubuntu being “teh distro of choice” not
    ever… It’s good for someone that has 0 clue
    about GNU+Linux but when it comes to
    someone that wants more from their system
    it falls flat on its face in a similar way that
    any other distro tends to when it comes
    to customizing. Ow there are exceptions
    and I’m in no way an elitist. But I belive
    the users should be educated about Free
    Software(Open Source can go do something
    to itself for all I care).

    Basically if dumb user material use:
    *buntu
    pclos
    mandriva
    and such…

    Intermediate:
    debian
    rhel
    and similar

    Advanced use:
    slackware
    gentoo
    source mage
    LFS
    lunar
    and similar…

  41. Pingback: Bookmarks about Ubuntu

  42. Pingback: The “Ubuntu Equals Linux” Paradox « Jon Reagan's Tech Blog | news ports

Leave a Reply

